| media contact |

PARMA Recordings
223 Lafayette Road
Hampton NH 03842
(603) 758-1718 x165

| general correspondence

Verda Stelo Music
PO Box 292
Rockville MD 20848-0292

| photos |

Click on images for full size/high resolution versions.

Photo Credit: Alaina AllenPhoto Credit: Alaina Allen







| biography |

| brochure |

| audio samples |



| media/artist quotes |

▸ “Every once in awhile, an artist comes along that is so brilliant, you feel honored to be able to listen to their music. David Gaines is just that artist. His imaginative orchestral compositions explode with texture and passion....”
— IndabaMusic.com

▸ “a captivating performance....a milestone in the canon of symphonic band literature”
— Washington Post (review of The Lion of Panjshir)

▸ “colorful percussion writing....Gaines demonstrates a keen affinity for orchestration. Woodwinds and brass are vividly exploited; percussion applied with as much subtlety as power.”
Baltimore Sun (review of The Lion of Panjshir)

▸ “I cannot imagine a more powerful mix of words, images, and music....People who know nothing of Massoud or Afghanistan will be stunned by the sheer power of the composition, and people who are familiar with these topics will be reduced to tears....a tremendous piece of work.”
Sebastian Junger, journalist/author, “Restrepo,”  “A Death In Belmont,”  “Fire,”  “The Perfect Storm” (review of The Lion of Panjshir)

▸ “One of the most outstanding and original voices in American music....[The Lion of Panjshir] is indeed a powerful experience, and certainly one of the finest works of its kind in a long, long time.”
— Kevin Scott, Director, Maybrook Wind Ensemble; Former Director, SUNY-Orange Symphonic Band (New York)

▸ “This is very attractive music....Without ever sounding like a pastiche of styles, Gaines' music succeeds in creating its own approachable style, with impressive lyricism....and a real sense of power and purpose.”
Records International (review of the orchestral compact disc The Music Of David Gaines)

▸ “David’s hauntingly lovely Povas Plori Mi Ne Plu will echo in your ears long after leaving the performance; we are privileged to give this work its American premiere.”
Erik Reid Jones, artistic director, Master Singers of Virginia

▸ “Wonderful compositions....”
Bay Area Chamber Symphony

▸ “Thank you for writing such beautiful music for the voice.”
Mezzo-soprano Kimball Wheeler, voice faculty emerita, California Institute of the Arts (soloist, world premiere, Symphony No. 1 - "Esperanto")

▸ “Your composition enraptured me with its melodic motives taken from many cultures as well as with its richness of colours...I find the tessitura and the melodic line to be quite comfortable and that they [allowed me] to present the richness of the mezzo voice...I would be privileged and happy to have an opportunity to perform the Esperanto symphony again in the future.”
Mezzo-soprano Joanna Dobrakowska (soloist, Poland premiere, Symphony No. 1 - "Esperanto")

▸ “extraordinary talents....highly skilled handling of the large structure....a very talented composer”
Former Loudoun Symphony Orchestra (Va.) conductor Mark McCoy (review of the orchestral compact disc The Music Of David Gaines)

▸ “What an imaginative work! I particularly enjoy the interplay and extensive kinetic activity.”
Dr. Michael Hall, viola soloist & faculty, Illinois Wesleyan University (review of Suite Of Changes for viola and mallet percussion)

▸ “I really enjoy your Lyric Fanfare. It is absolutely the perfect way to begin my recital....I like the formal organization of the fanfare and the energy. I know my accompanist will love his part as well.”
Dr. Eileen Meyer Russell, trombone soloist & associate professor of music, Southwestern University

▸ “....spiritually uplifting....”
Omaid Weekly (review of The Lion of Panjshir)

▸ “....Gaines has contributed [a] major work which can hold its own against any other modern symphony....”
EsperantoUSA (review of Symphony No. 1 - "Esperanto")